Peach Rum Cake Parfait’s

 

I was in an experimental mood.  Like the mad scientist I worked furiously in the kitchen.  My master plan, to create a peach rum cake.   The cake looked and smelled wonderful  until I took it out of the oven, and then it…. collapsed!! 

Like the saying goes.  ‘When life gives you lemons, make lemonade’.  In this case, I made peach rum cake parfait’s.

Even though the cake collapsed, it was actually very moist and tasty.  To fix my disaster I cubed the cake, whipped up some homemade whipped cream which I added chopped peaches to, and sliced extra peaches to add as layers in the parfait.   It all seemed so natural, no one would have guessed that my mad scientist experiment went completely awry! 

In the end, I  shared the parfait’s with our neighbors who actually contemplated sneaking back to our house to raid the fridge for more.  You see what a little rum will do to you…

13 thoughts on “Peach Rum Cake Parfait’s

  1. What a good way to remedy a sunken cake! I always used them to make cake balls, but this sounds perfect for a lite summer dessert! And its definitely still summer here in Houston, I just need to get some peaches before they are all gone!

Reply

