Apple Oatmeal Cupcakes

Apple Oatmeal Cupcakes

Today, I entered Better Homes and Gardens ‘Mad For Plaid’ recipe contest.  I adapted this Apple Oatmeal Cupcake recipe from their Red Plaid cookbook that I received when I was in high school.   I’ve used the book so much the pages are stained, and have actually started falling out of it.

 
I modified their original recipe of Applesauce Spice Cake by using real, fresh grated apple instead of applesauce.  I also altered and eliminated  a few other ingredients as well.  I opted to top them with an oatmeal, brown sugar and cinnamon topping to avoid a sweet sugary frosting. 
 
You can view my recipe at the link below.  If you’re so inclined you can also vote for contestants, or create your own entry.  Go ahead – give it a try!  What do you have to lose?   
 
 
4 thoughts on “Apple Oatmeal Cupcakes

Reply

