Are you a wine-ie

I am fortunate to live in the middle of one of New York State’s best known regions, the Finger Lakes Region. The Finger Lakes consists of eleven lakes, Conesus, Hemlock, Canadice, Honeoye, Canandaigua, Keuka, Seneca, Cayuga, Owasco, Skaneateles and Otisco.

Aside from being one of the most beautiful areas in this country, the Finger Lakes region has one other attribute that can’t be argued.  Wineries and vineyards.  Wineries and vineyards galore in fact….  At last count there were close 100 wineries spanning the area, and at least 56 different varieties of grapes grown in the region.  It’s my understanding  the deep water lakes help contribute to a desirable climate for grape growing, just as  the sloped terrain the grapes are grown on does.

Now I have a confession to make.  I love wine, but I am not a sommelier (an expert on wines and food pairings), I’m not a oeneologis (an expert on the science of wine making), or a master vintner (experienced expert on wine making).  All I  know about wines is what I like, and what I don’t like.  I’m always up for a tasting, and I’m always up for trying new wines.  I prefer my wine on the slightly sweeter side but under certain conditions I like a drier wine.  I’m not partial to just reds, whites, or blushes, I like them all.

I can’t begin to give the wineries in the Finger Lakes the credit they deserve.  Hardworking people farm the lands, create and manufacture enough wines each year to keep the wine lovers like me, and the tourists happy, all while marketing it with a sense of pride.   Each winery has its own draw.  Other than great wine, they offer fun servers in the tasting rooms, beautiful decks over looking beautiful lakes,  great food and annual wine and food festivals,  the unusual naming of wines like Lucus Vineyard’s Miss Behavin Nautie wine, quaint gift shops, a donkey, you name it, and you’re sure to find it at one of the Finger Lakes wineries.

I have a lot more wineries to visit on my (to go to) list.  That means I need to get busy.  I’ve been telling my husband I think a wine tour for my birthday is in order – with limo and all.  We will see if he gets the hint… 

The bottle of Growers Red is from Bully Hill Vineyards located on Keuka Lake.  They produce some of my favorite wines and I highly recommend a stop there if you’re wine touring.

Cheers!

4 thoughts on “Are you a wine-ie

  1. Pingback: The FLX Files | THE JOY OF CAKING

Reply

