Cool and sweet

 

It was over 90 degrees out yesterday, especially in the direct sun.  My husband and I had finally found the time to work on our chicken’s ( soon to be) new home.   We got the floor, and two walls framed.

After a day of lifting, carrying, and screwing down lumber  I figured we were ready for a cool treat.  One of my favorite things to do with fresh fruit is to make homemade sauces for ice cream.  With some black cherries still left in the fridge that I had neglected to freeze, I knew how to use them up.

Ice cream sauce is one of the easiest things you can make, and it’s impressive.  The sauces look and taste so expensive, and if you buy them they typically are.

Here’s my recipe. 

3/4 c. fresh fruit (if the fruit can be mashed, I usually mash it – cherries aren’t very cooperative in that department)

3/4 c. water

3/4 c. granulated sugar

2 heaping tsp (the teaspoon you use at a place setting) of cornstarch

1/2  tsp. vanilla extract, or lemon if you prefer

In a sauce pan add your fruit and water.  Bring to a boil.  I generally boil until the fruit becomes tender, the color is rich, and the smell will send you out of this world (about 5 minutes).

In a separate bowl  mix the sugar and cornstarch. 

Once the fruit is ready, add a bit of the hot fruit liquid to the dry ingredients and stir.  Adding the hot liquid to the dry (sugar & cornstarch)  prevents the cornstarch from getting lumpy in your sauce.  Last, pour the colorful sugar and cornstarch mixture back into the fruit liquid that’s left in your saucepan.  Boil until it thickens.  Once you take the sauce off the heat stir in your vanilla or lemon extract.

And here are the cool, sweet results from less than 15 minutes of work.  The only thing that would have made this better is homemade ice cream so I’m saving my pennies to buy an ice cream maker!  By the way, you can preserve this sauce and give it away as gifts, or put it in your pantry for a nice winter treat.

8 thoughts on “Cool and sweet

  1. Pingback: Homemade Peanut Butter Topping–My Liquid Gold | THE JOY OF CAKING

  2. Pingback: Peanut Butter Fudge Ice Cream Topping - BeBetsy

  3. Pingback: Peanut Butter Fudge Ice Cream Topping | BeBetsy

  4. Pingback: Peanut Butter Fudge Ice Cream Topping | THE JOY OF CAKING

  5. LOL – I have to admit I ate ice cream every night in a row until it was gone… I have no will power! I love blueberry sauce too, and I’m hoping to pick some this weekend.

Reply

