A pastry chef – I’m not. But hey, it sure tasted good.

I envy you bakers that throw together a pie crust like there’s nothing to it.  I’ve seen your crusts -  no flaws, perfect thickness, and edges.  That’s what I classify as a true form of art.  

I, on the other hand, wrestle with pie crusts every time I make them.  I realize my difficulty comes from how infrequently I make pies, and quite possibly my lack of patience. 

This weekend was no exception.  I decided to whip up a Strawberry Glace’ Pie.  I made the  pie crust, and as usual, became frustrated as I struggled to get the dough to form a nice round circle to fit in my pie plate.  Once the crust landed in the pie plate I had to refrain from using bad words as I realized it didn’t fit in the plate evenly, and would need some serious patching.

I had to remind myself I was  just going to eat this pie and I wasn’t looking to win a blue ribbon at the county fair. Everything would be all right… 

As the crust  baked I concentrated on making the filling.

Once the crust  and filling were ready I poured the filling into the crust.  From this perspective things looked so much better.

With all that said, here is what made it all worth the aggravation.

And regardless that the crust wasn’t perfect, it sure tasted good!