Side note

Last minute decisions on what to have for dinner are pretty common in our place of abode.  It usually boils down to what’s on hand.  Once we narrow that down we go from there.

Last night was no exception.  After deciding we’d grill a couple steaks, the second question was – What to have with it??  Now, it should be noted that my husband does all the grilling and he is very good at it, so that usually leaves me with the task of preparing the side(s).

One of my more recent concoctions (which we have quite frequently now) resulted from having the lack of ingredients in the house. After scouring our cupboards and the fridge I came up with this:   First, I boiled some pasta (your choice).  I’ve used linguine, angel hair, and spaghetti.  When the pasta is ready, I throw it in a pan with some olive oil and a little crushed garlic.   Next, I add whatever veggies I have on hand – last nights dish ended up with a small sprig of  broccoli (par-boiled) from our garden and a few black olives.  Lastly,  I add some black pepper, some parm cheese, and Italian seasoning.  

Of course the beauty to this is you can use whatever pasta, veggies and herbs you have on hand.  It’s on the lighter side, and is quick and easy. 

Give it a try.  Let me know what ingredients you favor.  Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Side note

Reply

