Beer Bread – a bakers nightmare – drink it, don’t bake it..

It was close to 90 degrees today.  But aside from spending a good portion of today out in the hot sun I decided I wouldn’t let the intense heat deter me.  Geared up and ready to bake, I briefly searched for a quick bread recipe that I could throw together in a pinch.  I was looking for a wee bit out of the ordinary recipe to go with our simple dinner of grilled chicken and greek salad.

After careful deliberation I decided on “Easy Beer Bread”.  I’m sorry to say I might better drank the beer and foregone the baking  – I would have been much more satisfied I’m sure.

For the most part I followed the recipe which was very simple – 2c. self rising flour (I didn’t have self rising flour on hand so I followed a substitute recipe – 1 c. flour + 1 tsp. baking powder + 1/2 tsp. salt per cup),  3 tbls. sugar, 1 bottle of beer, and because the recipe didn’t call for any type of shortening which I thought odd, I added a tsp. of olive oil for good measure. 

The bread smelled wonderful making, baking, and cooling.  It tasted fairly good  – except I thought it was on the bitter side.  But the failure was the texture.  The bread was – to be blunt – rubbery.  YUK…   The first sign was its failure to brown in the oven – at that point I became slightly suspicious.  It became all to clear when I sampled it before dinner.

For a second opinion I passed a piece off on hubby at dinner (and I loaded the margarine on it too.)  His conclusion – the same as mine – rubbery.  He said it tasted good but reminded him more of cake.  Oh well….

 The moral of the story here.  Drink your beer on a 90 degree day and forget baking beer bread.

One thought on “Beer Bread – a bakers nightmare – drink it, don’t bake it..

Reply

