Mac Salad – good ole summer time classic

Macaroni salad has always been one of my favorites.  I particularly prefer it in the warmer months complimenting specific foods like bbq ribs, chicken, burgers, etc.  

I’ve taken my mother’s recipe, intermingled it with my grandma H’s recipe, and added a bit of my own creativity to come up with a salad to satisfy my taste.

Grandma H always used Miracle Whip in her salads, my mom always used mayonnaise.  I use mayo too. Grandma always added a touch of sugar to her recipe, my mom didn’t.  I do.  Neither used green olives in their salads but I generally do.  I think the olives add a little zip to the salad.

Now, if you ask me for my recipe it would be a little of this, a little of that.  No measuring,  just a lot of little tastes until I’m satisfied with the results.  

What about you?  Do you have a recipe you follow?  Or, are you a creator like me?

Reply

