Pound Cake

Yesterday I decided to make a pound cake from scratch.  I followed a recipe in a cookbook I have that claimed the recipe was over 100 years old.  The cake called for the typical ingredients with the exception of 1 tsp of vanilla extract, and 1 tsp of lemon extract.  It didn’t call for baking soda, just baking powder. 

I made the cake per the recipe, poured the batter into a loaf pan, and baked it for an hour at the recommended temperature of 325 degrees.  I have to say it took a lot longer than an hour to bake completely.  In the meantime I ran into the problem of the outside baking too fast.  When it came out of the oven I was leery.  I let it cool and when it came time to cut it I realized the outside was too brown for my liking.  So, I cut the crust off and sliced the cake.  It was DELICIOUS!  Let me say it again – DELICIOUS.  After slicing it I cubed the slices and layered it with fresh-cut strawberries in a glass bowl.  When I served it I let everyone put their own whipped cream on top. 

Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures because it got eaten so fast there wasn’t time.  If I make it again I may try to cover it with aluminum foil to prevent the outside from browning like it did.  But this is definitely a make again cake!

Reply

