One Bowl Corn Muffins for My Dream Restaurant

Order up!  I’ve often thought that I’d like to own a restaurant.  I envision it being a small place known for serving some of the best food north of the Mason Dixon Line.  I’d offer daily specials that could be read off an overtly large antique blackboard and I‘d serve the meals on vintage mismatched dinnerware that I’d scour local thrift stores to find.

The focus would be on good food made from scratch, using local farm fresh ingredients whenever possible.  And while I would offer plenty of healthier choices, there would be lot’s of comfort food to choose from too. 

Daily specials would consist of homemade soups, hand-pulled BBQ pork sandwiches, slow roasted beef and ham, country fried chicken, homemade mashed potatoes and gravy, macaroni and cheese, and my grandma’s famous coleslaw.  And what is a good meal without delicious homemade dinner rolls and corn muffins?   And let’s not forget the dessert cooler filled with slices of homemade cakes and pies – yum.

Okay, I’m back, no longer daydreaming… 

Since I really don’t see myself going into the restaurant business anytime soon, if ever, I decided to do the next best thing and make homemade The Joy of Caking’s One Bowl Corn Muffins to share with you.

These muffins are moist, sweet, and won’t crumble apart in your hands. And just so we’re clear, these are the muffins I would serve if I ever do open a restaurant. 

The Joy of Caking’s One Bowl Corn Muffins

1/2 c. sugar

1 egg

1/4 c. Chobani Plain (low fat) Yogurt

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

3 TBSP. olive oil

1/2 c. ground cornmeal

1 c. all-purpose flour

3/4 c. skim milk

Spray a 12 cup muffin pan with non-stick cooking spray.  Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

In a large bowl, add sugar, egg, yogurt, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and oil; mix thoroughly by hand.  Add in remaining ingredients of cornmeal, flour, and milk.  Mix until all ingredients are completely blended.  Fill muffin cups a little over half full and bake for 12-14 minutes, or until toothpick comes clean when inserted into the center.

Cool before removing them from the pan.

The Chobani Yogurt and skim milk helps make these muffins a bit healthier too.  You don’t’ have to feel so guilty when you eat one, or two…

Have you ever dreamed of opening a business?  What would it be?

18 thoughts on “One Bowl Corn Muffins for My Dream Restaurant

  1. That dream restaurant sounds wonderful – I’d go! You got my curiosity going with your “grandmother’s famous coleslaw”… is this recipe on your blog? I’ve been looking for a really good coleslaw recipe but can’t seem to find it…

    1. Unfortunately the recipe is not written down. It’s in my head, and it’s a pinch of this and a dash of that. One of these days I’ll have to make it and put it on paper so it can be passed along. I can tell you she always put a little sugar in it, and used Miracle Whip. I think that’s what makes it so good 🙂

  2. These looks amazing!
    And dream about business – maybe not restaurant, but cooking class. I’d love to be the best and teach other people, inspire them, to show how easy is to cook at home 🙂

  3. Pingback: Honey & Roasted Poblano Corn Muffins - Creme De La Crumb

  4. I think you would have an amazing restaurant! The way you described it reminded me of a place we went to in Palenville, NY last summer called Circle W, although it is also a grocery store. As for the corn muffins, I’ve already pinned them. I like that they are made with yogurt and oil, and skim milk. Healthy! I’ve missed you , Eileen!

  5. This is my kind of corn muffin and if you ever get that restaurant I’d love to visit. Keep the dream alive!!!

  6. Do not stop dreaming! It could happen how about this idea? Find a place to park the Pink Paradise and then whip up your goodies. Bake a couple in the Paradise so that it smells good. Add tables under an awning and start selling! Tea Time inside is reserved for those that pay big! I swear this is a good idea says Denise :).

Reply