Old-Fashioned Custard Pie with Strawberry Sauce

When Cheryl  at TidyMom announced the Fourth Annual #LovethePie Party I knew I wanted in on the action.  I love pies, I love making pies, and I love pie parties!  And what’s more, I love the idea of winning a Whirlpool Gold ® 6.2 cu. ft. Capacity Induction Range or a very cool prize package from Paul Haedrich, author of PIE and Dean of The Pie Academy.

And speaking of ranges, let me tell you a little story.  Our oven recently decided to stop working.  Not very convenient when you plan on entering a pie baking contest.

Fortunately, we have a spare oven in our basement so I’m not completely out of commission, but trekking up and down the basement steps to use the oven has been quite an adventure.  Plus, who wants to hang out in a basement that I refer to as my husband’s man cave?  Um… no thank you!

So, what have I learned from not having my faithful oven at my fingertips?

1.) I have learned I am a visual baker.  I need to see what I’m baking.  Even with the timer set, it’s just not enough.  I want to see my custard pie firming up and my homemade rolls turning golden brown.

2.) Besides sight, smell is just as equally important to me.  I can tell by the smell of the pie crust baking, or the rolls browning, if they are close to being done.  It  a knack I’ve picked up from baking for so many years, but it’s not as easy to do when the oven is a one floor away from you.

3.)  I have also learned that there are heat differences between ovens.  My ovens temperature varies slightly from the one downstairs.  What bakes well in one oven on the top rack, doesn’t necessarily fair so well in the other oven on the top rack.

Even with all of these new challenges I proceeded to make one of my favorite types of pies for the pie party – CUSTARD.  Try carrying one of these pies down a flight of  steps with the custard filling sloshing around.  No, on second thought, please don’t!

Custard pies are hands down my most favorite.  And topped with  strawberry  – oh dear me…  I have been experimenting with custard fillings and I think this recipe wins hands down.

For this pie you will need one 9” unbaked pie crust.  Either make your own favorite pie crust (like I did), or buy an already prepared crust.

Old-Fashioned Custard Pie Filling

4 eggs

2/3 c. sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1 1/4 cup of skim milk

12 oz. can of evaporated milk

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

In a medium saucepan, add skim and evaporated milk.   Heat until scalded, then remove from heat.

In a large bowl, add eggs; beat with electric mixer.  Add sugar, salt, nutmeg, and vanilla; mix thoroughly.  Add scalded milk, and beat again until all ingredients are well blended.  Pour into pie crust and cover crust with pie baking ring.

Bake for approximately 25-30 minutes.  Check for doneness by inserting a table knife off to the side -  away from the middle of the pie.  If the knife comes out clean, the pie is done.  The center of the pie will look a little soft, but be careful not to over cook it.  Baking a custard pie for too long may make the custard watery.  Serve warm or cold.  Store in the refrigerator.

Top your pie off with strawberry sauce.  This sauce is made by crushing fresh or frozen berries, and adding sugar to taste.

What’s your favorite pie, and who makes it?

Come join Love the Pie with TidyMom sponsored by Whirlpool and enter to win a new Whirlpool Range too!

4th-annual-Love-the-Pie-party-banner-100x100

12 thoughts on “Old-Fashioned Custard Pie with Strawberry Sauce

  1. Pingback: Double Vanilla Cupcakes with Strawberry Cream Topping | THE JOY OF CAKING

  2. Made this from scratch on a whim with my 8 & 5 year old sous-chefs. This is the first pie I’ve EVER made. It was easy and delicious. Kids had a blast. My family and neighbors loved it. Thanks.

  3. Pingback: 3 Favorite Recipes and 3 Years of Blogging | THE JOY OF CAKING

  4. Holy cow, you be careful. Didn’t you have problems doing stairs recently? Now we’ll all worry.

    My grandmother used to make a lovely custard pie and my other grandmother would put it down.. holidays were a scream. :)

  5. You may not believe me, but I am actually going to make your pie recipe right now! I enjoy custard pies and have been looking for a good recipe for a while now. Can’t wait to taste it! :) Thanks for sharing!

  6. I feel your pain literally and figuratively about going up and down the stairs. That’s where I do my baking. The oven upstairs is electric and the gas one is downstairs. All of my supplies are downstairs as well. With bad knees and touchy tendons it’s been quite an experience. This custard pie looks amazing and the strawberry sauce reminds me of warmer temps. I’m adding this to the ever growing list of holiday desserts I want to make.

Reply

