Get Out Your Soup Making Pot

buffalowing chicken soup_001

One thing I’m going to try to make more of this fall is homemade soup, and the first soup on my list was Buffalo Wing Chicken Soup.

My inspiration to make this soup came from the RiverPark Grille in Waterloo, NY.  My husband nearly always orders this when we visit there.  And I’m always up for a few tastes of his, but on occasion, I’ve found it a bit too spicy for my blood.  That doesn’t seem to slow him down though.

I did some searching on-line and tracked down a recipe from the cool blog, sports-glutton.com (check it out).  I used the sports-glutton’s recipe as a guide but I did adapt it to fit our tastes. 

This is a great game day soup, but it’s not for those who are watching fat and calories. 

** I have adjusted this recipe since first publishing it.  This version is not as heavy and thick as the picture depicts.

Buffalo Wing Chicken Soup

1 small – medium onion, diced

1/4 c. celery, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 c. margarine

3 tbsp. all-purpose flour

4 c. chicken broth

1 c. skim milk

1/2 c. light cream

1/4 c. sour cream

3/4 c. mozzarella cheese, grated

1/4 c. Mexican cheese, grated

Pinch of salt

1/4 tsp. black pepper

1/3 c. Frank’s Hot Sauce

3 c. cooked chicken, cubed (I used a store-bought rotisserie chicken)

In a large stock pot, add margarine, onion, celery and garlic.  Sauté on medium heat until veggies are light golden brown.

Add flour to margarine and veggie mixture; stir completely.  Once veggies, butter and flour are completely mixed, add chicken broth and milk, whisk all ingredients together and bring to a boil on medium heat for one minute; stirring constantly.  Remove from stove, puree ingredients, and return to heat.

On low heat, pour in light cream, sour cream, cheese, hot sauce, and salt and pepper.  Cook until cheese is completely melted. 

Add chicken to the pot and simmer for 10 minutes.  Pour into bowls and serve with a dollop of  your favorite blue cheese dressing.  Drizzle hot sauce on top.

** Cooks note:  My suggestion is to start out with a 1/3 cup of hot sauce.  If it’s not spicy enough, turn it up a notch like I did.

soup buffalo chicken 021

What is the first soup you’re going to make this fall season?

8 thoughts on “Get Out Your Soup Making Pot

    • Hi Elizabeth. I do put 1 cup of skim milk into this soup when I make it. I just missed adding it to the recipe’s ingredients. Good catch! I’ve corrected the recipe now. Also, I always use skim, but you can use what you have on hand.

  1. Pingback: Broccoli, Ham and Cheddar Soup for Two « THE JOY OF CAKING

  2. Pingback: The FLX Files | THE JOY OF CAKING

Reply

