Double Stuff Peanut Butter Cookies

What you don’t know about me.  I once was a Girl Scout.  I once was one of the top seller’s of Girl Scout cookies for my troop.  I LOVE Do-Si-Dos. If I buy cookies for myself from the store they are usually Nutter Butter’s.

Now that I’ve let you in on a couple less known, but seriously important facts about me, I want to share something else.

Here is a peanut butter cookie recipe with a delicious cream filling that you can make from scratch.  Just be sure to keep your pantry well stocked in peanut butter…

peanut butter cream 045

Double Stuff Peanut Butter Cookies

Cookie Dough:

1/2  c. peanut butter

1/2 c. margarine, softened

1/2 c. brown sugar

1/2 c. granulated sugar

1 egg, room temperature

2 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/8 tsp. salt

1/2 c. ground oats (I used mini food processor for this)

1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour

Cookie Filling:

1/2 c. peanut butter

3 tbsp. butter

2 c. powdered sugar

2+ tbsp. milk

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

Instructions:

In a large bowl, add peanut butter, margarine, sugars, egg, salt, and vanilla; beat with electric mixer on medium speed until fluffy.  Add baking powder, ground oats, and flour; stir until thoroughly mixed.  Refrigerate dough for 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Remove dough from refrigerator.  Roll out on lightly floured surface. Cut out cookies with cookie cutter and  place on  cookie sheets lined with parchment paper.

Bake for approximately 9 – 11 minutes. Remove from oven and cool completely.

In a large bowl, mix filling ingredients together.

Construct cookie sandwiches and store in airtight container.  Makes about 2 dozen.

Consume with a milk chaser!

peanut butter cream 040

What is your favorite Girl Scout, or store-bought cookie?

I have been sharing my recipes at a great new website called BeBetsy.com.  If you’ve got a minute check them out!

18 thoughts on “Double Stuff Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Not had much luck with rolled dough and cookie cutters in the past. Do you think that if I made a log before refrigerating, I could do slice and bake? If so what size diameter log do you think would work best.
    Thanks,
    Vicky

  2. Me too! I’ve wanted to recreate some of my former merchandise, but I haven’t had a chance. I’ll have to try this recipe now. Thank you for sharing…and thank you for visiting my blog. It brightens my day to hear from you! Hugs and love from Austin.

    • Monet, Thank you for visiting my blog. It brightens my day as well! Maybe sometime we should have a retro week where we all re-create one of our earlier recipes. Like a blog hop.

  3. ooo yum! These are some of my favorite cookies, I always keep a box of these at home! Your homemade ones look delicious, that peanut butter stuffing sounds amazing!

  4. I couldn’t agree more with the two of you … I never seem to make anything twice. Unless of course the first time it wasn’t around long enough to get a decent picture of it first! Love peanut butter cookies – it’s been a very long time – I think I’ll need to add these to my baking schedule for sure.

    • I like the baking schedule idea! I love cookbooks and the web so there is always something new to try. I’m headed to your blog now. I’m sure I’ll find a new idea there – lol!

  5. It’s been a while since I have made cookies like these. That’s the sad thing about blogging. Once something has been made, it rarely returns to the menu because there are SO many other things to make!! Your cookies look wonderful. I can almost smell that lovely peanut butter cookies smell.

    • I know exactly what you mean. There are so many recipes to try that it does seem like once you’ve made one you’re onto the next. I think this recipe is a keeper though :)

Comments are closed.