Get out your sifters for these shortbreads

I’ve been in search of a shortbread cookie recipe that I can actually say reminds me of  Panera Bread’s. Will this be the one?

I recently made a recipe for shortbread cookies that one of my blog visitors recommended.  This shortbread cookie recipe came from Kari’s Cooking.

I did modify Kari’s recipe slightly by adding 1/2 teaspoon more of vanilla extract than her recipe called for, along with a dash of salt.  And since I didn’t have cake flour I used (sifted) all-purpose flour.  I also sifted the confectionery sugar the recipe called for.  Kari’s recipe is very close to a recipe I also found in The Good Housekeeping Illustrated Cookbook.  Good Housekeeping’s recipe calls for 1/4 cup less sugar, and the addition of 1/4 teaspoon of salt.

tractor and shortbread 037

Since this recipe was so simple to make I mixed my batch by hand.  I originally wanted to roll the dough out and use cookie cutters but  once everything was mixed I realized that wasn’t going to happen;  the dough was quite sticky.  So instead, I spread the dough out into an ungreased cookie sheet.  (I didn’t use the whole pan since I wanted a thicker cookie.)  I started at one end of the pan and spread the dough out to a point that suited me.  I used a piece of plastic wrap to smooth the top of the dough – no sticky fingers that way. Lastly, I generously pricked the top of the dough full of wholes with a  fork prior to baking. 

The dough rose perfectly while baking and I used my pizza cutter to cut the bars immediately after taking them out of the oven. To finish them off I drizzled a thin buttercream icing on top.

tractor and shortbread 036

These cookies are very good, the texture is nice, they are buttery rich as expected, and they turned out beautiful.  There is no doubt they go down easy and I certainly would encourage anyone who likes shortbread cookies to make a batch, or two.

Maybe the cake flour is the secret?  Or maybe my taste buds are playing tricks on me but I didn’t taste Panera shortbreads in this recipe.  That’s okay though.  These cookies are still very good and I will make them again.

To see how this quest started, and if you like sugar cookies, see my post Have a heart – cookie that is… 

I’d love to hear from anyone who tries this recipe.  Come on, chime in!

tractor and shortbread 033

11 thoughts on “Get out your sifters for these shortbreads

  1. HI Elieen, Thanks for the visit and your comment. I’m so happy I stopped by today and came across this recipe. I love making shortbread cookies and I will definitely try your recipe.

    I look forward to sharing recipes and ideas.
    Joanne

  2. No Panera here but if that’s what they look like, I want some. Until then I’ll copy yours.

    I love how you cut them just as they came out of the oven. Clever cookie.

  3. I’ve never had Panera cookies, but these look amazing, what great pictures. My Mr. loves shortbread and I’ve never made them for him. He’s/We are going to love tjese. Loving the pink drizzle!

Reply

