Count Down to Christmas

Black Friday came and went, Cyber Monday came and went, and  I suppose the count down to Christmas has begun.  And today is the 1st of December.

This year I decided to greet the count down by making a new cookie to see if it would make it’s way into my 2011 Holiday Cookie Box.

walnut cookies 036

These are a rolled cookie but the dough is very easy to work with.

This recipe for (Pecan Cookies) came from My Recipes.Com . It appears that it originated  from Julianna Grimes, Cooking Light – December 2011.

I made a couple of adaptations to the original recipe.  If you visit the link above you will find the original recipe.

For my version, I added an 1/8 of a teaspoon of Vietnamese Cinnamon to the batter and I used walnuts in place of pecans.  I toasted the walnuts which I sprinkled lightly with brown sugar (prior to toasting) for about 10 minutes in a 350 degree oven.

walnut cookies 021

These cookies turned out great. Their buttery, nutty, flavor makes them delicious.  They definitely will find themselves in my 2011 Holiday Cookie Box! 

 

15 thoughts on “Count Down to Christmas

  1. Pingback: Great Cookies For Your Cookie Boxes and Sharing This Holiday Season | THE JOY OF CAKING

  2. What a beautiful cookie to look at…and certainly a tasty cookie to eat! Thank you for sharing a part of your holiday cookie collection with me. I hope you have a relaxing Sunday!

Reply

