Picking blueberries and my mood

I love picking blueberries.  There is something therapeutic about it.  You start out thinking you’re never going to fill your (rather large) pail and before you know it, your mind wanders off and suddenly your pail is full of ripe, fresh berries. 

I  made a trip to Glenhaven Farm  to pick some berries today.  It was nice to enjoy the farms beautiful and quiet country setting and sample a couple of their delicious wines before heading home to make an old-fashioned blueberry custard pie (more on that in the near future).  I took my camera along for the ride, took some pictures while I was at the farm, and played around with it once I got back home.  A perfect afternoon in my book. 

I’ve notice that my mood dictates a lot of my posts.  Sometimes I feel more like writing, sometimes I feel like spending more time on my photos, and sometimes I’m just very concentrated on baking a perfect treat.  Today was definitely a photo day but I have to admit the reason I picked blueberries was for the sole purpose of making an old-fashioned blueberry custard pie.  The pie turned out delicious and we had it for dessert.  It was very hard to refrain from going back for a second piece.

 

blueberries 017

 

blueberries 040

 

blueberries 042

 

blueberries 029

 

blueberries 031

 

These gals were waiting for me when I got home.

 

blueberries 034

 

blueberries 033

 

To be continued.  Stay tuned for more on the old-fashioned blueberry custard pie….