Mini-vanilla scones and your cooking personality

Have you ever wondered what kind of cook or baker you are?  No, I’m not talking about a good baker, or a bad cook, or visa versa.  I’m talking about the kind of cooking personality you have.  Until now,  I really had no clue that  someone had researched this and came to the conclusion that there are five distinctive cooking personalities.   

Looking at my own cooking traits, I admit for the most part, I like to try new recipes. Many times I veer off the recipe trail and tweak recipes.  I like the thought of contributing my own distinctive touch, tastes, or style to a recipe.  I’m always looking for a recipe that I can add to my tried-and-true file, and granted, there are only a few tried-and-true recipes in my file, but what I can tell you is this, once a recipe makes there,  my quest for a recipe for that particular dish is over.  Some of the recipes on my list of tried-and-true’s - my mother’s apple pie recipe, my apple cupcake recipe adapted from Better Homes and Gardens Red Plaid cookbook, a carrot cake from Williams – Sonoma Baking cookbook,  a fudge brownie recipe I tweaked from Martha Stewart, and our family sugar cookie recipe.

From what I’ve found, Cornell University  researchers were the first to conduct a study to determine there are five different cooking personalities.  Their conclusions are as follows:

a) Giving: Friendly, well-liked and enthusiastic, giving cooks seldom experiment, love baking and like to serve tried-and-true family favorites, although that sometimes means serving less healthful foods.

b) Methodical:
Talented cooks who rely heavily on recipes. The methodical cook has refined tastes and manners. Their creations always look exactly like the picture in the cookbook.

c) Healthy: Optimistic, book-loving, nature enthusiasts, healthy cooks experiment with fish, fresh produce and herbs. Health comes first, even if it means sometimes sacrificing taste.

d) Competitive: The Iron Chef of the neighborhood, competitive cooks have dominant personalities and are intense perfectionists who love to impress their guests.

e) Innovative: Creative and trend-setting, innovative cooks seldom use recipes and like to experiment with ingredients, cuisine styles and cooking methods.

I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m a cross-over between a giving and innovative cooking personality. Can you decide what type of cook you are? If you are looking for some interesting reading related to food topics you might want to check out Cornell’s Food and Brand site linked above

Okay, on to the good stuff.  I found this recipe for vanilla scones on cdkitchen.  I  followed the recipe to the letter with the only adaptations made to the glaze recipe. For my glaze I used 1 cup of powdered sugar, 1/2 tsp. vanilla, 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon & sugar, and 2 tablespoons of water.  I made mini-scones by taking small pieces of dough and shaping it into very lightly greased cupcake tins.  I love the results.  These are scrumptious, and go great with a fresh cup of coffee, or tea.  I’m almost thinking these could go into the tried-and-true file they are so good.