The brown frozen banana

For years I would throw out over ripe bananas that I didn’t have time to use for baking.  Somewhere along the way,  I learned that you can actually freeze your over ripe bananas to use later on.  What a great piece of info, I loved it!  Ever since, I’ve been freezing my brown bananas for rainy days when I have the time to bake with them.

There is one thing I learned (the hard way) about freezing bananas. Thaw them completely before using them with any solid shortening.    

When I was making these banana cupcakes  my bananas were still slightly frozen (more than I realized) when I mashed and mixed them in with the softened butter the recipe called for.  Suddenly, my soft butter re-hardened  into bite sized chunks in the mixing bowl and wouldn’t mix completely into the batter.   When I poured the batter into the cupcake tins it was obvious this was going to create a problem during baking.  As soon as the cupcakes finished baking I removed them from their tins.  In the bottom, was the excess butter that hadn’t mixed into the batter. 

Fortunately, in this particular case the loss of excess butter didn’t dry the cupcakes out like I expected it to.  It may even have  done me a favor by reducing the fat content a little, but I will definitely pay closer attention when thawing bananas to use for baking from now on.

Here is the recipe (altered slightly) from Cupcakes! by Elinor Klivans

1 1/4 c. unbleached all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

3/4 stick of unsalted butter, softened at room temperature

1 c. sugar

2 medium bananas, broken into 1″ pieces ( I mashed)

2 large eggs

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1/4 c. buttermilk ( I used sour milk)

1 cup butterscotch chips (Eliminated)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 12 regular size muffin tin cups with liners. Sift flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt into medium bowl and set aside.  In large bowl, using mixer, beat butter and sugar on medium speed until blended and creamy (about 2 minutes).  Add bananas.  Add eggs one at a time, and then vanilla.  Beat for 1 minute.  On low speed, add half the flour mixture, mix to incorporate and then add milk.  Mix in remaining flour and mix until batter is smooth.  Stir in butterscotch chips. 

Fill paper liner leaving 1/4 inch space at the top of each.  Bake until top feels firm and toothpick comes out clean.  Approx 25 minutes for regular size cupcakes (I never have to bake my cupcakes for that long so set your timer at 12 minutes and check them from there to be safe).   Cool for 10 minutes in pan on wire rack before removing ( unless you do what I did. In that case, remove immediately)

I didn’t frost these cupcakes because they were sweet enough for me.  Actually, without the frosting they tasted  very similar to banana bread.  So, good….