Ha’ Pennies

These little cheddar appetizers pack a punch, and I hadn’t made them in years.  I lost the recipe, and it wasn’t until I was searching through my grandmother’s recipe box that I found it again.  I had to snicker at her little note at the top of the recipe, “good with cocktails.”

With that said, I decided it was time to make a batch.  I’m not sure where the original recipe originated from, but I can vouch they are “good with cocktails.”

The recipe is so simple that it doesn’t seem right.

1 cup of grated sharp cheddar cheese

1/2 cup of all-purpose flour

1/4 cup butter or margarine, softened

1 1/2 tbls. dry onion soup mix

Place all in mixing bowl.  Knead into a soft ball.  Divide dough in two.   On wax paper, make two logs about 1″ in diameter. Wrap in wax paper and refrigerate for about 2 hours.

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.  Cut into 1/4″ slices.  Bake on ungreased cookie sheet for about 12 minutes.  Immediately remove from the cookie sheet and place on a paper towel to absorb excess oil prior to serving.

*Note – the logs can be frozen prior to baking for approximately 2 months.

Don’t forget Project Food Blog voting starts September 20th.  You can vote for me at http://www.foodbuzz.com/project_food_blog/challenges/1

10 thoughts on “Ha’ Pennies

  1. Oh my goodness… whenever I look through my grandmother’s recipe box I see the same little notes! Ha. Little housewives in the 50′s and 60′s loved their cocktails. He he he.

    These were definitely not in my grandmother’s recipes though, they look delicious! Anything with cheese and you can count me in!

    Nice posts for PFB, you’ve got my vote just for the onion cake. I can’t wait to try both of these recipes.

  2. I’ve had something similar but they were called maybe ‘cheddar straws’?
    I was going to try making crackers tonight but I think I will try these little gems. I’m going to assuming the cocktail is mandatory with when eating these.

Reply

