Cottage Cheese & Black Raspberry Muffins

It’s been a hectic week.  I haven’t had time to bake, or any “me” time.  So tonight when I got home from work, and my father in-law told me he had dropped off a pail of black raspberries, I was happy.  This meant that I could create.  Use those fresh berries to make something unexpected.

So here is the unexpected.  Cottage Cheese & Black Raspberry Muffins. 

The recipe is an adaptation of mine.  The muffins are light colored and have a heavier consistency.  They are almost cake like. The berries don’t get lost in the muffins – their flavor is prominent.

2 c. flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
2 tsp. vanilla
2 eggs
1 tbls. milk
1 c. cottage cheese
2/3 c. sugar
1/2 soft margarine
2 c. berries

Mix (with a mixer) all wet ingredients.  Then add all dry ingredients.  Lastly, fold in berries.  Bake @ 400 degree oven until toothpick comes clean when testing center muffin.  Sprinkle with granulated sugar.  This recipe makes about 16 muffins.

Besides the muffins, I froze 5 quarts of berries.  I’m told theirs lots more berries to pick so I’m thinking homemade black raspberry wine is on my list of to do’s this summer!

Reply

