In between babies

 
Blueberry Oat Muffins

I decided I had to busy myself while the third baby duck hatched out of his/her shell so I whipped up a batch of Blueberry Oat Muffins – yummy. 

 Recipe as follows: 

  • 1 cup heaping all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1 tbsp. cinnamon
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 3/4 cup canola oil
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 2 tbsp. milk
  • a ton of blueberries
  • sprinkle with sugar on top when they come out of the oven
  •  Bake at 375  until done 

    Oh, and here is number 3! 

    Baby #3

     

    And then there were two…

    Our babies

     

    With number three in the process of hatching as I write. Life – what an amazing process! 

    Late last night my husband came into the house  with a partially hatched egg in hand.  A baby duck was in the process of breaking out.  Not sure what we should do to help, we helped it (later to learn that is not a good thing to do) out of  its shell.  The little one was weak and we immediately put it under the light to keep it warm.  I was  nervous because it seemed so worn out.  But then again, I guess that would be expected – considering the whole birthing process.  

    Baby number one was running around burning off huge amounts of energy while baby number two was trying to rest from hatching. 

    I checked on them in the middle of the night and baby two seemed to be getting stronger.  By 5:30 this morning it was sitting up and making noise with its sibling.  I can’t believe how tough these little chicks are.  They are the cutest little things.  

    I imagine by the end of this evening we will have three babies.