Hello Baby!

Baby

 

 
Last year my husband and I bought six Peking ducks (chicks) at Tractor Supply Company.  This was a new adventure for the two of us.  Of the six, two didn’t make it because of birth defects, but we were fortunate to raise three healthy drakes, and a hen.  The ducks have been so much fun to watch, listen to, and have around.
 
 
  
This spring we decided to see if we could get some more babies from Momma.  So when the weather started to warm up we started leaving the eggs she layed in her house.  Eventually, she built a nest and stopped laying eggs when she figured  she had all she could handle.  Of the eight eggs she laid, she discarded four.  We figure she realized they weren’t developing.  So for 29 days now we have been watching to see the first sign of life. I knew something was up today when my husband was headed to the house with something small cupped in his hands.  Sure enough, it was Baby.  Still wet from his/her hatching. 
 
 
  
From what I’ve read the hens are good at hatching their eggs but their maternal instincts don’t go much beyond that.  I’m not sure I believe that but we didn’t want to risk something happening to Baby so my husband put him/her in with some baby chickens we are now raising that  are about a week old.  The baby chickens accepted Baby with no problems.
  
Tonight, Baby is strong, fuzzy, eating & drinking and making lots of noise!   I took this picture this evening, Baby is less than a full day old.