Finished and frosted…

Carrot Cake (Williams Sonoma Baking Cookbook)

350 Degree Oven

2 c. all-pupose flour

2 tsp. baking soda

2 tsp. baking powder

2 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. ground allspice  (*I used nutmeg)

4 large eggs

3/4 c. canola oil

3/4 c. sugar

1 c. firmly packed brown sugar

1/2 c. buttermilk  (* I used sour milk)

3 c. shredded carrots

Cream Cheese Frosting to top it off which I whipped up from years of practice and no recipe.  Sorry…

In the middle of making a carrot cake

I have procrastinated all day long.  I had good intentions of baking a cake earlier in the day but it’s been a lazy day for me.  The weather is crummy, and frankly, my time this morning was spent watching Runaway Jury.  Good movie…  When I couldn’t make up my mind what kind of cake to make today I  asked my husband.  Would he prefer a yellow cake with a lemon filling, or a carrot cake with cream cheese frosting?  I knew what his answer would be.  Carrot of course!  I found a great recipe for carrot cake in a Williams Sonoma Baking cookbook that I bought for his birthday one year.   I’ve made this cake before and the first time it turned out great – nice and moist..   When the cake is finished I’ll post a picture or two and the recipe. 

I spent some time looking at some vintage recipe books today too.  That’s  a topic I definitely will have to spend more time on in a future post.